Theme Music

The theme music from Brookside was composed by Steve Wright (not the radio DJ!) and Dave Roylance. Over the years there’s been lots of covers that have appeared on TV theme compilation albums. Too many to list here, but instead here are the ‘official’ Brookside releases.

Theme from Brookside

Theme from Brookside (1982)

Vinyl 7″ single by Steve Wright & Dave Roylance containing the following tracks:

Side 1 – Theme from Brookside

Side 2 – 1. Theme from Everyman, 2. Mersey Mist

Produced by Mersey Music Co. – MM 1001

Free George Jackson / Theme from Brookside (1984)

Vinyl 7″ single by Steve Wright & Dave Roylance containing the following tracks:

Side 1 – Theme from Brookside

Side 2 – Blazing Saddles – Free George Jackson

Produced by Soapside Records. – MM 1001 / MM 1003

Theme from Damon and Debbie (1987)

Vinyl 7″ single by Dani Ali and Annabel Lamb containing the following tracks:

Side 1 – Dani Ali – Talk to Me (His Song)

Side 2 – Annabel Lamb – Talk to Me (Her Song)

Produced by Ariola / BMG Records.

Unluckiest House CD

Number 10 – The Unluckiest House in the World (1998)

Audio book read by Michael Starke in character as ‘Sinbad’.

Cover blurb: ‘Sometimes I have to pinch myself to think that it’s 14 years since I first set my size 9’s on Brookside Close. We’ve seen some real characters come and go in that time. Harry Cross, Damon Grant, Alan Partridge, Paul Collins and Heather Haversham, Pat Hancock – remember him?

So much strife has centered around number 10 no wonder they call it the house of horrors.

I’ve lived there myself a few times and have good and bad memories of the place, but I’ll try to be impartial. So here it is, Sinbad’s guide to Number 10.’

Cast Music Releases

Outside of Brookside, several cast members have released their own albums varying in style from pop to ballads. This is just a small example of ones we’ve found, but there maybe others. If you’ve found something we’re missing, then get in touch!

Vince Earl – The Other Side

Vince Earl, was an already established stand-up comedian and musician with his own bands as part of the Merseybeat scene of the 60’s before playing Ron Dixon in Brookside.

There are examples of vinyl releases of Vince Earl and the Attractions online, but this is a solo album which features a mix of covers.

Track listing:

  1. Always on My Mind
  2. Sometimes When We Touch
  3. Really Love To See You Tonight
  4. Leroy Brown
  5. If Tomorrow Never Comes
  6. Mr Bojangles
  7. You’ll Never Find (Another Love Like Mine)
  8. God Only Knows
  9. Walk in the Room
  10. Only You
  11. Every Day
  12. I Saw The Light

Jennifer Ellison – Baby I Don’t Care (2003)

Various different releases of this exist featuring the radio edit of the song, various remixes and additional track ‘Silent Footsteps’.

Jennifer Ellison - Bye Bye Boy

Jennifer Ellison – Bye Bye Boy (2004)

Two versions of this single were released, one containing just the radio edit of the song, the other containing various remixes.

Sam Kane – A Song for You

Track listing:

  1.  It Had Better Be Tonight
  2. The Summer Wind
  3. The Lady is a Tramp
  4. You’ve Got A Friend
  5. This is the Moment
  6. Everything
  7. I’ve Got You Under My Skin
  8. Sunset Boulevard
  9. Jessie
  10. The Way You Look Tonight
  11. A Song For You
  12. That’s Life
Ray Quinn album

Ray Quinn – Doing It My Way (2007)

Track listing:

  1. Ain’t That A Kick In The Head
  2. Fly Me To The Moon
  3. My Way
  4. That’s Life
  5. Mack The Knife
  6. Smile
  7. The Way You Look Tonight
  8. Summer Wind
  9. What A Wonderful World
  10. Mr. Bojangles
  11. New York, New York

Ray Quinn – Undeniable (2020)

‘Undeniable’ is the former X Factor runner-up’s first release in over 13 years. The 10-track album includes 2 original songs, the single ‘They Say Love’ and ‘Smile’ as well as covers of some of Ray’s favourite songs.

Track listing:

  1. They Say Love
  2. If I Never Sing Another Song
  3. Arthurs Theme
  4. Clarity
  5. I Who Have Nothing
  6. Mercy
  7. Smile
  8. You Don’t Know What Love Is
  9. From Russia With Love
  10. When I Needed You
Ricky Tomlinson album cover

Ricky Tomlinson – Music My Arse (2001)

Track listing:

  1. Intro
  2. Bill Bailey
  3. Are You Lookin’ At Me?
  4. Baby Face
  5. Pogue Mahone
  6. Maggie May
  7. Among My Souvenirs
  8. I Wanna Girl
  9. Leaving Of Liverpool
  10. Black Velvet Band
  11. Dirty Old Town
  12. A Million Tears
  13. Half The World Away
  14. Tipperary
  15. Someday